Milton High's Kraus wins girls Rock Run championship

Share on Facebook Print Print
Gazette staff
August 28, 2013

MILTON-Michelle Kraus kicked off the 2013 high school cross-country season in impressive fashion Wednesday.

The Milton High School won the girls 4,000-meter race to help the Red Hawks finish second in the Rock Run. Monona Grove won the girls team title with 20 and Milton was second with 44. Janesville Craig finished third with 82.

Beloit Memorial won the boys team title with 35, eight points better than Craig. Milton was fourth with 106.

Kraus (16:53) edged Danielle Harris by one second to with the girls race.

"I'm not surprised Michelle won the race," Milton coach Jennifer Greenleaf said. "She's already had two very good years in our program and worked hard in the offseason."

Craig's boys finished second in the Rock Run for the first time after winning it every year.

"We're a very young team that is just starting to come together," Craig co-head coach Brian Lawton said. "I think by the end of October, we have a chance to be pretty good.

"Our girls team is also very young and working hard. This was the first varsity race for a lot of them."

Rock Run



Beloit Memorial 35, Janesville Craig 43, Monona Grove 48, Milton 106.


(5,000 meters)

1. Terry McMillan (MG), 17:27; 2. Jack Klobucar (BM), 17:57; 3. Alec McCann (JC), 18:32; 4. Jake Schlaefer (MG), 18:45; 5. Morgan Poepping (BM), 18:50.


-- Craig-8. Max Snyder, 19:13; 9. Christian Gilmore, 19:34; 11. Brett Ziebell, 19:37; 12. Zak Gestrich, 19:50.

-- Milton-18. Jeremy Woodcock, 21:00; 19. Randall Lipke, 21:01; 22. Danny Pratt, 21:25; 23. Kaleb Crane, 21:44; 24. Kenneth Yap, 22:11.



Monona Grove 20, Milton 44, Janesville Craig 82, Beloit Memorial 98.


(4,000 meters)

1. Michelle Kraus (Mil), 16:53; 2. Danielle Harris (MG), 16:54; 3. Alexa Kelsey (MG), 17:21; 4. Mackenna Anderson (MG), 18:13; 5. Bridgette Trinastic (MG), 18:29.


-- Milton-7. Taren Rowley, 18:31; 10. Bronte Adamson, 19:47; 12. Taylor Brandt, 19:57; 14. Olivia Rigg, 29:03.

-- Craig-13. Morgan Exner, 20:02; 15. Jocelyn Gaddini, 20:36; 17. Sammi Champion, 20:59; 18. JoJo Slatter, 21:13; 19. Kim Klusmeyer, 21:20.

Share on Facebook Print Print